Sunday, May 31, 2009
i got lazy
ok, i admit it, i got lazy with blogging. So quick catch up. the lady that called me after swallowing the sleeping pills is ok. well alive. She is going to counseling twice a week and not returning to work. she told me she would keep me updated on how she is doing. This upcoming week is my last week at the store actually. Im kind of sad about it though, finally started getting used to them. I am transferring to a store a little closer to home. 15 min from where im at now instead of 30min. And as of second weekend in june it will only be about 5 min away. Place im moving to is one exit away from the new store. Its gonna be great! Dreidel will have a yard and another dog to wear her out. They met today and get along very well. Its a black lab so they are both very payful. The past week i have been catching up on the show Heroes. Starting with season one so far. Its a show i never watched before but its quite fun. Its also nice to watch an episode right after another and not waiting for a week in between.
Saturday, May 2, 2009
manager/suicide hotline??
So tonight had an interesting turn of events...
It all started with a text message from one of my employees saying " i just cant live anymoore(yes 2 o's), sorry. " I thought she was just being over dramatic because she was sick(as I'm covering for her tomorrow) and i replied back just saying its ok i have no problem working for you tomorrow. Followed by a phone call from her , so emotionally out of control i could barely understand her. Saying how she was all alone, she didn't know what to do, no one was there for her. I tried to calm her down but she then hung up. From there i called got her address from the store, called 911 and sent them out. She called me back again, once again just saying how she was all alone, she wanted to sleep and not wake up. That she was a failure of a mother (her son was caught selling drugs at school and is in a whole lot of other trouble), her family was gone , and a bunch of repeating the same thing over. She then started drifting away. I kept trying to keep her awake and find if she took anything like sleeping pills. The phone went silent disconnected. At that time an officer called me saying that the address was incorrect, asking me my phone number, address, date of birth(like i was lying? ).. She called me back again, this time i got out of her that she had indeed taken some pills, she didnt know what kind, but it was a whole bottle. She wanted me to know that i was a good guy and could tell that i had a great heart( i think maybe she wanted to clear that up for all the grief i had gotten at the store, maybe not sure why really).. I tried to keep her talking, worked for awhile, then i could hear her drifting off asleep, and then silence. I called my district manager, who i had been on the phone with on and off during this whole ordeal.. she was trying to get a real address for this employee. A little time passed of unknowing and the employee called me once again. I asked how she was and if she was ok, she stated yes and there was fire and police officers there. She apologized for bringing me into all of it and that she just wanted to talk to someone. It ended with me having her get an officer on the phone, but that never happened. I did hear a guy in the background saying get off the phone. SO at this point of the night not sure what else to do. Both my and my district manager called on people she knew, no answers or the ones that did have the same address that we did for her. (all work related people). So that's the exciting story of the evening... more details to come soon i hope. I swear i have dealt with more in 2 months here in this Starbucks than i ever have as a manager. sheesh.
It all started with a text message from one of my employees saying " i just cant live anymoore(yes 2 o's), sorry. " I thought she was just being over dramatic because she was sick(as I'm covering for her tomorrow) and i replied back just saying its ok i have no problem working for you tomorrow. Followed by a phone call from her , so emotionally out of control i could barely understand her. Saying how she was all alone, she didn't know what to do, no one was there for her. I tried to calm her down but she then hung up. From there i called got her address from the store, called 911 and sent them out. She called me back again, once again just saying how she was all alone, she wanted to sleep and not wake up. That she was a failure of a mother (her son was caught selling drugs at school and is in a whole lot of other trouble), her family was gone , and a bunch of repeating the same thing over. She then started drifting away. I kept trying to keep her awake and find if she took anything like sleeping pills. The phone went silent disconnected. At that time an officer called me saying that the address was incorrect, asking me my phone number, address, date of birth(like i was lying? ).. She called me back again, this time i got out of her that she had indeed taken some pills, she didnt know what kind, but it was a whole bottle. She wanted me to know that i was a good guy and could tell that i had a great heart( i think maybe she wanted to clear that up for all the grief i had gotten at the store, maybe not sure why really).. I tried to keep her talking, worked for awhile, then i could hear her drifting off asleep, and then silence. I called my district manager, who i had been on the phone with on and off during this whole ordeal.. she was trying to get a real address for this employee. A little time passed of unknowing and the employee called me once again. I asked how she was and if she was ok, she stated yes and there was fire and police officers there. She apologized for bringing me into all of it and that she just wanted to talk to someone. It ended with me having her get an officer on the phone, but that never happened. I did hear a guy in the background saying get off the phone. SO at this point of the night not sure what else to do. Both my and my district manager called on people she knew, no answers or the ones that did have the same address that we did for her. (all work related people). So that's the exciting story of the evening... more details to come soon i hope. I swear i have dealt with more in 2 months here in this Starbucks than i ever have as a manager. sheesh.
Friday, April 24, 2009
at the laundromat


One joy of the laundromat...free wifi to occupy my time. Also wanted to upload a couple more pics from Dreidels day at the dog park. (by the way, her test results came back and she is all healthy)Wanted to take her today but starting to get a little chilly today. So instead, laundry. Its just nice to be off of work today. It has been a little rough lately. Some of the employees are taking to kindly to my motto of "you don't like to clean, then quit". So far one girl quit on me yesterday. She got to work, i sat down with her to discuss a few things with her, she in turn gave me her apron and left. So that is fun. I'm sure there will be a few more. My district manager totally supports my motto though, and we both agree these people quitting is a good thing. Still awaiting on any news about getting a store closer to downtown. The district manager for that area did make it up to my store a couple days back to meet me, he laughed saying he should have packed a lunch for the drive out. Its the same drive i take. I really still hoping the transfer will work out. Still waiting for some exciting stuff to share on this blog, lately it has just been work and home. Its been really mentally exhausting there lately so i get home and just want to relax to some TV. Brandon is doing his new systems of training at work and what not, and trying to move on up the work ladder, so he feels the same when he gets home. Its been a nice relaxing time though.
Friday, April 17, 2009
week of Dreidel





So Dreidel had her first Utah vet visit on Friday. She had not been feeling well, and was due for her one year vaccinations. All in all it went well. She was a good dog as she was given her shots and got her temp taken the old fashioned way. Doc said her coat was healthy, body weight was good, teeth were nice and clean, all in all looked good. Waiting for Monday to hear results of fecal test. She started feeling better that same day.. so hopefully all is good.
Friday Dad came up and stayed with us that night. He had his first Chuckorama Buffet experience. Good stuff! He was up here for the marathon. Sat him and I headed to see Heidi (the cousin). Had been up here a month and yet to see her... bad cousin i am.
Today was the eventful day of the week. It was a beautiful , super beautiful day outside. Brandon and I took Dreidel to a dog park. It was fun. She did so good playing with other pups. She had her first experience with water(besides a bath and drinking) at the pond. It was kinda muddy so she didn't realize what it was. She thought she was god and tried to walk on water. oh it was funny! Threw in a couple times after that to get her used to it, but didn't work. She learned to stop at the edge after that. We decided we need to do it more often because she is now one worn out dog and just resting and relaxing. Overall, Great day! (minus Brandon and i getting a lil sun burnt).
Friday, April 10, 2009
moving day(march 1st) to today




Since it took me so long to get a blog( Brandon now had to remind me, AGAIN, while we are sitting here at the coffee shop down the street from our apt). I will give a quick round up from what has happened since the move here....
Moving day... got a much later start than expected, we ended up staying over night in St. George with mom and dad, took a nice lil break.
Moving day 2... driving..and more driving. Unloading and somehow fitting all boxes into the apt. My stuff, combined with his stuff..it worked though.
Dreidel took awhile to adapt....still is. She no longer cries when we have to leave and put her in her room.(her cage) She still gets skittish when she is taken out to go to the bathroom. She has to make sure no strangers are walking by before she can "go" (pee shy). She wont eat unless either Brandon or I standing next to her(depending on who is feeding her). I sometimes have to put food in my hand and feed it to her to get her started.
She has her lil dog bed that we have to move from the bedroom to family room depending on where we are, otherwise she is confused on where she is supposed to lay.
Work... work is good. Thank goodness the snow is coming to an end (well I hope so) and the drive is a lil better. Got a lil scary some mornings with the snow and over the point of the mountain. I live downtown salt lake, and work in American Fork (AF) ...about 30miles drive south. There is an area on the freeway where its called the "point of the mountain" and for some reason traffic gets scary right there. Wind and snow picks up at the point. The town of AF is....well...different. Not the lil utah town that i expected. One customer that lives there dubbed it perfectly as the Walmart town. Yesterday was the worst day there yet....was there at opening (530am) and left at 1045pm. Long day of cleaning....cleaning...and more cleaning.
Possibly soon i will get to get a store closer to home. Unfortenutely they are closing the Payson store so that manager might transfer to my store, and give me the chance to get a little bit closer to home.
As far as home life... Me and brandon are good. We do a fair mix of cooking and take out. Cooking is a little diffucult sometimes due to a smaller sized kitchen. We are looking fwd to the day of a bigger kitchen with a dishwasher and counter space. Also a place with a washer and dryer. But for now its fun...its a classic old style downtown apartment. Brandon laughs at me because sometimes ill just go off on a tangent about wondering how many layers of wallpaper are behind the paint, or how many people have lived here, or why there are plugs that are painted over.
So that is the last month in a nutshell...slightly rambling nutshell. Will do my best to keep up with blogs....Brandon will too.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
